Our History


A Brief History

The Illinois Baptist State Association received a charter as an Illinois corporation on November 2, 1907, at Marion, Illinois. Its place of business was moved to Du Quoin, Illinois in 1923, to Carbondale, Illinois in 1930 and to Springfield, Illinois in 1971.

Today, nearly 1,000 churches and missions are affiliated with the IBSA.

Our Timeline

1906 Meeting held to discuss organizing new state convention

1907 IBSA organized

1907 Benjamin Franklin Rodman named executive director

1907 First IBSA Annual Meeting held

1908 Illinois Women’s Missionary Union organized

1910 IBSA joins the Southern Baptist Convention

1911 Illinois WMU becomes an auxiliary of IBSA

1913 Our Savior Polish Baptist Church, Chicago becomes first ethnic church to join IBSA

1914 Baptist Children’s Home, Carmi organized

1919 IBSA participates in the 75 Million Campaign (pre-cursor to the Cooperative Program)

1925 The Cooperative Program begin

1926 James Madison Pepper named executive director

1929 Edgar Wiley Reeder named executive

1929 Baptist Student Union organized (would later become Baptist Collegiate Ministries)

1937 First state Brotherhood organization formed

1938 Baptist Foundation of Illinois formed

1941 Lake Sallateeska Baptist Camp purchased

1946 Noel M. Taylor named executive director

1948 IBSA authorized to begin churches in the northern part of Illinois

1950 SBC held in Chicago

1953 Carbondale Baptist Building established

1956 Convention-backed Bond Program begins

1957 SBC held in Chicago

1965 James Godsoe named IBSA’s first Language (Ethnic) Missions Consultant

1967 James Hillman Smith named executive director

1968 First Community Baptist, Royal Lake becomes one of the first African American churches to join IBSA

1969 Streator Baptist Camp purchased

1971 Springfield Baptist (IBSA) Building established

1976 “We Were There” history of IBSA by Robert J. Hastings published

1980 Ernest Moseley named executive director

1981 Illinois Baptist Disaster Relief Team established

1982 Convention-backed Bond Program given to the Home Mission Board (now North American Mission Board)

1988 Maurice Swinford named executive director

1989 L.D. Patrick named IBSA’s first Anglo Church Consultant

1990 IBSA begins first mission partnerships with Mississippi and the Caribbean

1993 Clarence F. Shuler named IBSA’s first African American Church Consultant

1993 Petah Tikvah becomes IBSA’s first Messianic Jewish congregation

1993 Maternity Center, Mt. Vernon completed

1993 M. Eugene Wilson named executive director

1994 Convention adopts “declaration of repentance” for past racism

1996 Robert Wiley named executive director

2003 Wendell Lang named executive director

2006 Nate Adams named executive director

2007 IBSA celebrates 100 years

2012 IBSA Building remodel completed

Church Resources Church Planting Disaster Relief Communications Illinois Baptist Camps Business
Church Health SEND Chicago Acts 1:8 Cooperative Program Lake Sallateeska Info Technology
Evangelism SEND St. Louis Mission Opportunities Illinois Baptist Streator Baptist Camp  
Kids Collegiate Ministry WMU Other Publications    
Students Zone Consultants        
Worship and Music          


Illinois Baptist State Association | (217) 786-2600 Phone | (217) 585-1029 Fax | 3085 Stevenson Drive, Springfield, Illinois 62703
© Copyright 2018, Illinois Baptist State Association. All rights reserved.